Skip to main content

ASCN UK Committee


Andrew Bird



Andrew became a Registered Nurse in 2002 and has since gained experience within colorectal surgery, critical care and pain management before taking on the role of Lead Stoma Care Nurse at the Queen’s Medical Centre (QMC)  in Nottingham in 2015.

Since then, he has worked with ostomates, nurses, industry and support groups towards improving the lives of those living with a stoma. He has been involved with ASCN UK as an area representative and with WCET scientific committee prior to becoming Honorary Treasurer for ASCN in 2019.

Andrew was awarded the British Journal of Nursing Stoma Care Nurse of the Year award 2019 for his work in developing a seven day stoma care service at the QMC. 2019 also saw Andrew become the Clinical Lead for Connect Prescription Services at Fittleworth Medical Limited.

Angie Perrin

Vice Chairperson


Angie is currently the Vice Chairperson for ASCN. She was elected in 2016. Angie has over 25 years experience working within the specialist sphere of stoma/colorectal nursing. Has a keen interest in ileo-anal pouch reconstruction surgery and quality of life, that was the subject for her MSc thesis. Angie has previously been the Chairperson of WCET UK from 2003-2007.

Angie has worked for Salts Healthcare since 2012, as their Clinical Lead for Innovation. RGN (1989)

MSc Nurse Practitioner
BSc (Hons) (Colorectal)
ENB 216 1995

Click Here for further information about The Role of the Vice Chairperson


Emma Vernon

Education Officer


Coming Soon

Click Here for further information about The Role of the Education Officer


Carolyn Swash

Honorary Secretary


More information on Carolyn is coming soon

Click Here for further information about The Role of the Honorary Secretary



Amanda Gunning

Honorary Treasurer



Past & Present Committee members


  • Judy Hanley (Shadow chair) 2012, (Chair) 2013 - 2016
  • Maddie White (Shadow Chair) 2016, (Chair) 2017 – 2021

Vice Chair

  • Gilly Tomsett 2013 - 2016
  • Angie Perrin 2017 – current

Education Officer

  • Wendy Osborne 2011 – 2019
  • Jennie Burch 2020 - 2022


  • Jules Plumb 2010-2014
  • Simon Turley 2014 - 2018
  • Jackie McPhail 2018 – 2021
  • Carolyn Swash 2022 - current


  • Rebecca Davenport 2011 - 2016
  • Gill Little 2017 – 2019
  • Andrew Bird 2020 2021
  • Amanda Gunning  2022 - current